Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Slip-On Muffler - 16773

4 inch Monster Rounds offer the same perfection and performance as the Monster Ovals Feature a chrome finish with striking angled billet end caps Stereo-friendly, Monster Mufflers yeild a deep rich tone that is perfect for those cross-country tours Encased in full-coverage one-piece formed heat shields with machined end caps in chrome, riders will be proud to show off their pipes wherever the road takes them Rounds are compatible with Screamin Eagle drop skirt bags Features removable baffles Sold in pairs Included Items: (2) Monster Round Muffler Casing (1) LH Monster Round HS (2) 1.9 in. dia. Torca Band Clamp (1) RH Monster Round HS (2) 3.00 in. SS Clamp for V-Rod NOTES: Not all products are legal for sale or use on pollution controlled vehicles. Check your local laws and the manufacturers information There is no warranty on exhaust pipes and mufflers with regard to any discoloration. Discoloration (bluing) is the result of tuning characteristics, cam timing, carburetor jetting, overheating, etc., and is not caused by defective manufacturing. See the CHEMS/LUBES section in the back of this catalog for products that will help prevent or remove bluing. Installation of a new exhaust system may change your motorcycles fuel-air mixture requirements. Please consult the exhaust manufacturer directly with questions regarding any modifications that may need to be made during. or after, installing their product. If a jet kit or fuel processor is recommended, see the FUEL/INTAKE section Recommended Vance & Hines fuel management module: Fuel Pak FP3 (part number 2001886 ) For CAN Bus models only (Touring, Softail, Dyna and Sportster). Not compatible with V-Rod models 16773
Average Customer Rating:
4.863 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (102 reviews)
5 stars
91
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
100 out of 102(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Slip-On Muffler - 16773
Review 1 for Slip-On Muffler - 16773
Seldyn1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Finish: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fitment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound: 
soft
Loud
loud
Loud
from Libertyville, IL
V&H slip ons
Date:June 19, 2014
Shipped on time, ordered Monday, arrived Wednesday.
Product quality is excellent and well styled for my taste.
My Fat Bob was new, did install after 250 miles. Old pipes came off easy. Had trouble using and fitting the old stock clamps that join the new slip ons to the head pipes. In the instructions they recommend using a Vance and Hines exhaust Clamp. This was not recommended to me by Dennis Kirk. It might be worth the extra money to make your job easier.
I would rate these pipes is pretty loud. They are basically straight through with baffling but significantly different than the original equipment. Good throttle management keeps them down to a dull roar and should be acceptable in any neighborhood. Certainly when you crack open the throttle there much louder and will let everyone know you're coming.
I have a set of events and Heinze monster ovals on my road glide which are much mellower. In general I like the sound, very authoritative, with a little trouble at idle. As far as raising them for performance I have only had mine for one day and since the bike is still not broken and it's difficult to tell. The bike does seem to run smoother and much better at low rpm's. With the stock pipes it felt really choked up.
Review 2 for Slip-On Muffler - 16773
leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
from buffalo ny
great pipes
Date:May 22, 2014
just installed on my 09 street glide look and sound great. sounds like a bike now, cant beat the price.
Review 3 for Slip-On Muffler - 16773
bilt4com4t
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finish: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fitment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound: 
soft
Loud
loud
Loud
from Waco, TX.
Better than anticipated
Date:May 17, 2014
I was deciding between V&H or some Cobra pipes. After talking to the tech department, I was convinced on my choice. The shipping was great, the product fit perfectly, the performance was just as expected and I am solidified that I got the best bang for the buck. With an EFI system on an '08 HD FLHR these pipes perform, sound, and look fantastic. Installation was only about an hour. Great top quality item.
Review 4 for Slip-On Muffler - 16773
kcmonkmi
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finish: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fitment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound: 
soft
Loud
loud
Loud
from Cement City, MI
Exceeds Expectations
Date:May 4, 2014
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I have been wanting to upgrade the pipes on my '11 Super Glide Custom for a couple years now so that I could have the "bigger motor and bigger pipes" than my husband.
I had been researching pipes for a while and because of the overall reviews and pricing, I decided on these ones.
I read the directions thoughly hoping it wouldn't be too difficult and also I went to my local HD and bought the T-Clamps, just in case my original ones were bad or got damaged during removal.
As an extreme NOVICES, my husband and I were able to remove the old pipes and install the V&H Slip-ons without a horrible amount of trouble. The only problem we came across was it was very difficult to put the T-Clamps back on and we had a tough time but were able to re-use the old ones.
Overall time frame to install was about an hour from start to finish.
The first time I cranked the bike on, I was smiles from EAR to EAR! The low grumble exceeds what I expected from these pipes. When traveling down the road at a steady speed, the sound isn't overbearing and runs behind you so that you can still enjoy the ride.
Overall, I love these pipes and would highly recommend for anyone wanting a sound upgrade and great appearance. LOUD PIPES SAVE LIVES!
Review 5 for Slip-On Muffler - 16773
PHBilly
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finish: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fitment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound: 
soft
A Little Loud
loud
A Little Loud
from Pinon Hills, CA
Great Mufflers
Date:October 24, 2013
This is my second set of V&H mufflers, first pair on a 1990 FatBoy, and I'm not disapointed. Finish was great and was no problem installing them. Like others say, a bit of work getting the stock pipes off but when thats done, it's cake. Loud enough to be heard, (I'm a believer in ("loud pipes save lives"), but not annoying. A beautiful rumble. I don't believe a remap is needed although a Vance & Hines Fuelpak is a must and DK's price is the best. I called V&H support about the fuelpak, with no waiting, got my answers. Fast response! Thanks DK! Thats why you're my parts dealer!
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Hear the rumble!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Review 6 for Slip-On Muffler - 16773
FATBOYBUCK
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finish: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fitment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound: 
soft
Loud
loud
Loud
from EDWARDSVILLE, IL.
Just Right>>>>>
Date:August 16, 2013
These are the pipes for the guy who likes a low throaty sound without being too loud for your radio, intercom, etc..
Face it ..... the factory pipes do not do justice for a Harley, these bring it up a notch to satisfaction! Very easy to install...and SUPER SICK FAST shipping from DK where can you go wrong?
Review 7 for Slip-On Muffler - 16773
Uscbchuck
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Finish: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fitment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
from Pompano beach, fl
Rattle
Date:July 3, 2013
Love the sound. Makes it sound like it should.
Al good but a mysterious rattle that I have isolated to the baffle on the inside. Only one Allen nut to tighten, and am going to see how it goes. All aligned and bolts are tight, so we will see.
Review 8 for Slip-On Muffler - 16773
zuker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finish: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fitment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound: 
soft
Loud
loud
Loud
from south jersey
v&h slash cut slip ons
Date:March 29, 2013
just finished firing up the bike with the slip ons installed they sound great nice rumble but not overpowering can hear my radio very satisfied with pipes and dennis kirk sent them in three days packaged with no damage very pleased with this purchase.
Review 9 for Slip-On Muffler - 16773
jbo87
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finish: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fitment: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound: 
soft
Very Loud
loud
Very Loud
from new iberia La
slip- ons
Date:March 3, 2013
i would recommend this slip-ons to anyone who don't want to spend a lot money but want a great sound and performance for there bike
Review 10 for Slip-On Muffler - 16773
JustinGAnd
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finish: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fitment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound: 
soft
Soft
loud
Soft
from Los Angeles, CA
Great for Touring Bike
Date:December 27, 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I was pleasantly surprised by these slip-ons. I never had any concerns about V&H quality, but my V&H straight shots were really loud on my sportster. I bought these twin slashes for my 13 street glide and was really happy. They definitely make that distinctive rumble, and shout pretty good when throttling up, but even at highway speeds they are not annoying. I can still hear my radio clearly and they don't produce the jack-hammering effect on longer rides. They are certainly deeper and louder than stock, but not obnoxious. Noticeably less restrictive (better high end torque).
Review 11 for Slip-On Muffler - 16773
Slappy63rd
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finish: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fitment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound: 
soft
Loud
loud
Loud
from Holloman Air Force Base, NM
Very Nice!
Date:December 14, 2012
Sound GREAT! Not excessively loud. I have not ridden enough with them on to comment on power or fuel mileage gains/losses. They look good also! Price was good shipping was fast!
Review 12 for Slip-On Muffler - 16773
RickD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finish: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fitment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
from Austin, Texas
A great deal
Date:December 10, 2012
Was prepared to spend about twice as much at dealer or even on line. Suspicious as these were relatively inexpensive. Unfounded as they are all I could ask for even if they had been at far higher pricing. No regrets. Easy install w simple instructions. Sound is noticeable bot not over the top. If you are looking for really loud these are not for you but they are substantially louder than stock and Screaming Eagles. These went on a 2012 HD Ultra.
Review 13 for Slip-On Muffler - 16773
pacman416
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finish: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fitment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound: 
soft
Loud
loud
Loud
from IL
Great Value
Date:December 7, 2012
I wanted to replace 2012 Fat Bob stock exhaust. These slip-ons really brought out the Harley sound. Highly recommended if you want to inexpensively change your stock sound
Review 14 for Slip-On Muffler - 16773
steve35146
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Finish: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fitment: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound: 
soft
Loud
loud
Loud
from Springville, AL
Now Am Heard
Date:December 7, 2012
What I expected out of Vance & Hines slip ons. Prompt delivery by Dennis Kirk. Heat shield on rear slip on did not fit tight as front leaving space. I understand common problem for whatever reason on Super Glide Custom.
Review 15 for Slip-On Muffler - 16773
HogWart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finish: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fitment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
from Lafayette, CA
Very nice slip-ons
Date:November 26, 2012
These slip-ons are finished beautifully, and look and sound great on my 2013 FXDWG. They give that nice "Harley sound", without being *too* loud. I am running the baffles the slip-ons came with. The material is all heavy gauge, and looks and feels like it will last forever.
The stock slip-ons can be a beast to get off. Just sit on the floor and pull back whilst wiggling the muffler back an forth a bit. It took me about 10 minutes of wiggling per muffler before they yielded.
I initially had problems getting the old Torca clamps to slide over the neck of the new slip-ons. I tried to tap them in place with a plastic mallet. Nope. Then I thought to put the Torca clamps on my bench, and push the slip-ons down on to the clamp. That worked rather easily.
I had a nasty rattle after assembly, but this turned out to be the heat shields. They were tight, but the forward one was kind of "sprung" against the rear one. I just pushed it with my thumb, and it popped into position.
Review 16 for Slip-On Muffler - 16773
coolerdr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finish: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fitment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound: 
soft
Loud
loud
Loud
from Leavenworth, Kansas
Worth the money
Date:November 21, 2012
These slip ons were easy to install,look good and sound GREAT!!!
Review 17 for Slip-On Muffler - 16773
myultra
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finish: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fitment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound: 
soft
Loud
loud
Loud
awsume
Date:October 17, 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
great mufflers , look and sound great ,sounds like a Harley should , can't beat Vance & Hines or Dennis Kirk
Review 18 for Slip-On Muffler - 16773
signal20
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finish: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fitment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound: 
soft
Loud
loud
Loud
from Independence Missouri
Now it sounds like a harley
Date:October 15, 2012
Very easy to install. Accurate instructions. Sharp looking. I was surprised with the sound. Really nice bellowy sound. Set off the neighbors car alarm when I first started it up. Definitely worth the money.
Review 19 for Slip-On Muffler - 16773
Cummines
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finish: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fitment: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound: 
soft
Loud
loud
Loud
from High Ridge, MO
Vance & Hines Monster Rounds
Date:August 27, 2012
Extremely satisfied with the product and with Dennis Kirk staff who helped me tremendously in my purchase.
Review 20 for Slip-On Muffler - 16773
Trackman
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
from Erie, PA
Sounds great
Date:July 24, 2012
I got them in 2 days, like they said. I have a 06 E-GLIDE ULTRA CLASSIC. I took the old stock mufflers off, and had the new ones on in a 1/2 hr. they have a nice rumble going down the road, I can still hear the radio. But it's hard to hear the wife. They're not to loud, they make it sound like a Harley now. I'm very happy with the new mufflers.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>