Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Rear Elite 3 MT90HB-16 Blackwall Tire - 407991

Belted for extra load capacity Improved performance and long life, the next generation of long-distance tires E3 tread pattern gives class-leading performance in the rain; handling is not affected by rain grooves, steel bridge decks or tar strips Solid feel inspires more confidence in the corners Sidewall ID Information: DUNLOP MT90B-16 M/C 74H Elite 3 Dimensions: Inflated Width/Measuring Rim Width: 5.15 in./3.00 in. Inflated Diameter: 25.70 in. Acceptable Rim Width: 3.00 in. Deepest Tread Depth: 10/32 in. Balance DOT: Yes-Yellow Directional Arrow: Yes Speed Rating: H-Rated up to 130 MPH Capacities and Construction: Load Capacity/Inflation Pressure: 827 lbs./40 PSI Load Range: C Bias or Radial Ply: Bias Tread Plies/Material: 3 Polyester/2 Fiberglass Sidewall Plies/Material: 3 Polyester DOT Approved for Road Use: Yes Tube or Tubeless: Tubeless-Use Tube on Tube Type Rim Safety Warning: Please consult tire manufacturers publication(s) and/or website(s) for information on tire care, safety, installation, maintenance, manufacturers warranty and other information. The tires used for your application must have a load index and speed rating equal to or greater than the tires fitted as original equipment. 407991
Average Customer Rating:
4.767 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 out of 30(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rear Elite 3 MT90HB-16 Blackwall Tire - 407991
Review 1 for Rear Elite 3 MT90HB-16 Blackwall Tire - 407991
Charlie44
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mileage: 
low
Very High Mileage
high
Very High Mileage
from Grayland, WA
Great Tire
Date:August 12, 2014
The Elite 3 is the best tire I have ever bought. Good traction wet or dry, although I don't corner hard on wet because of the chance of oil on the road. I have about 13,000 miles on this rear tire and it will probably go to 4,000 on my 1998 Ultra Classic. I hope they continue making these so I don't have to go back to changing every 7,000 or 8,000 miles.
Review 2 for Rear Elite 3 MT90HB-16 Blackwall Tire - 407991
JPNAMVET6869
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mileage: 
low
High Mileage
high
High Mileage
from CRETE,ILLINOIS
Elite III Tires
Date:July 3, 2014
I HAVE BEEN RIDING FOR 50 YEARS AND HAVE USED EVERY TIRE OUT THERE.WAS GOING ON A 30 DAY TRIP AND NEEDED TO REPLACE REAR TIRE MICHELIN COMMANDEER SECOND REAR TIRE9,700 MILES ON IT. SO I DECIDED TO REPLACE BOTH WITH THE DUNLAP ELITE III. AFTER 27 STATES 9,500 MILES WITH MORE THAN HALF REAR THREAD STILL AND NO WEAR AT ALL ON FRONT. RODE ON EVERY TYPE OF ROAD THAT WAS OUT THERE. SOME I WOULDN'T EVEN CALL A ROAD. 400 MILES OF RAIN / SNOW/SLEET IN THE MOUNTAINS/DIRT /MUD/GRAVEL ETC.BOTTOM LINE THESE TIRES OUT PERFORMED ANY TIRE THAT I HAVE USED. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THESE TIRES AND WILL REPLACE THEM AS NEEDED WITH SAME TIRE .HAVE A 1996 ULTRA WITH 115,655 MILES CURRENTLY.
Review 3 for Rear Elite 3 MT90HB-16 Blackwall Tire - 407991
ElephantRider414
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mileage: 
low
Very High Mileage
high
Very High Mileage
from Angleton, TX
Most Mileage Ever on heavy cruzers
Date:July 29, 2013
1996 Ultra Classic with heavy throttle and constant commuting mixed every now and then 2up riding: 13.5K miles. Ordering another one for the Ultra and another one for the 2001 Heritage. Very happy with this tire.
Review 4 for Rear Elite 3 MT90HB-16 Blackwall Tire - 407991
NCwally
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mileage: 
low
True to Specs
high
True to Specs
Pleasantly Surprised
Date:June 4, 2013
I installed the front and back tire at the same time and I could tell the differance on the ride home. I have rode in heavy rain on the mountain roads of NC and they shed water hold to the road great. I don't have but 1,000 miles on them but if they have a reasonable life I will buy them again.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rear Elite 3 MT90HB-16 Blackwall Tire - 407991
william106
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mileage: 
low
True to Specs
high
True to Specs
from benton il
nice
Date:November 13, 2012
nice looking tire great thread depth haven't tried it yet but looks like it should ride great
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rear Elite 3 MT90HB-16 Blackwall Tire - 407991
Dugweed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mileage: 
low
High Mileage
high
High Mileage
from Marine, IL
Very good tire
Date:July 2, 2012
i used this tire on the back of my 93 electra glide, very smooth, confidence inspiring grip, no squirm over tar strips. I would definately recommend this tire.
Review 7 for Rear Elite 3 MT90HB-16 Blackwall Tire - 407991
Vanman1100
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mileage: 
low
Very High Mileage
high
Very High Mileage
from Vancouver, Canada
Elite 3 Tire Review
Date:March 13, 2012
Great tire. I have 10k miles on it right now after one year of riding, I think that is very high mileage for a motorcycle tire. I could probably get another 3 or 4 out of it. But I purchased another anyway. Better safe than sorry, I don't want to run into rain with a baldini. Great performance in the corners. Never slipped under power in a corner. The thing I like about the tire is that it has rubber right in the middle of the tread. Whereas most tires have a groove down the middle, right where most of the wear occurs. I would rather have rubber than air in that part of the tire. I can't say enough good things about this tire. I just wish they made this tread pattern with white walls. And the tread pattern looks great on the bike. I have a Heritage Softail. Keep the shinny side up people, and have a great year. :D
Review 8 for Rear Elite 3 MT90HB-16 Blackwall Tire - 407991
IdRatherBeBikin
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mileage: 
low
Moderately High Mileage
high
Moderately High Mileage
from Iowa City, IA
Great Value
Date:March 13, 2012
The Elite 3 is a great value, for replacing stock Harley Touring tires. If you don't need whitewalls, or raised white letter tires, this is the same great quality tire, for less money!
Review 9 for Rear Elite 3 MT90HB-16 Blackwall Tire - 407991
Hubcaps
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
from Peabody Mass
Great tires
Date:August 15, 2011
This past spring I got 2 new dunlop d404 tires for my 1991 FDXDB Sturgis from Dennis Kirk Inc And they are great .Dennis Kirk Inc Had the best selection , prices and the shipping was fast. Last month my brother in law needed a rear tire for his 2000 ultra clasic I bought a Dunlop Rear Elite 3 MT90HB-16 Blackwall Tire from Dennis Kirk Inc and he loved the price and the way his bike handles. Dennis Kirk has a fitment guide to make sure you have made the corect tire choice.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Rear Elite 3 MT90HB-16 Blackwall Tire - 407991
s81301b
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mileage: 
low
Very High Mileage
high
Very High Mileage
Dunlop Elite 3 (rear)
Date:July 31, 2011
Prior to 2 years ago, I'd always used Dunlop D-402's on my H-D FLSTC. But I got cheap & installed two Bridgestones on my bike. Had major issues; number 1 is the concentric groove on the front tire that makes my bike nearly uncnotrollable on some grated draw-bridges. My wife refuses to ride on the back across a very close bridge to New Jersey, it scares her so much. And the two-up rear tire mileage was pathetic: nearly bald at 7k miles!
So I went back to Dunlops, not the D402's but the new Elite 3's. Beautiful! And no concentric front tire groove to send us into oscillation on grated bridges!
We'l see how tire miileage works out; I'll report on that later.
--Jim
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rear Elite 3 MT90HB-16 Blackwall Tire - 407991
walkman
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mileage: 
low
True to Specs
high
True to Specs
from Ludington, MI
My FLHT likes the E3.
Date:April 4, 2011
My H-D FLHTI handles very well with these Dunlop E3 tires. Have not put enough miles on to wear the rear out, but they seem to be wearing quite well.
Review 12 for Rear Elite 3 MT90HB-16 Blackwall Tire - 407991
MarkM
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
from Rockford, IL
Dunlop Elite III on HD Fatboy
Date:March 31, 2011
I just had the tire mounted the other night and put it on the bike. Don't have any real miles on the tire yet but the tire looks great and it balanced well (not a lot of weights on rim). Looking forward to putting some miles on it. I had Dunlops before but went to a Bridgestone on the last rear tire. It was a good looking and handling tire but it only lasted 8500 miles. My Dunlop K491s? (can't remember the other number dunlop) were getting about 13000.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Rear Elite 3 MT90HB-16 Blackwall Tire - 407991
HogDog
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mileage: 
low
High Mileage
high
High Mileage
from Salt Lake City, UT
Dunlop E3 is waaay better than stock tire
Date:March 21, 2011
Have used many stock Dunlop rear tires and consistently got around 10,000 miles out of each. Purchased a Dunlop E3, have 7500 miles so far and it's not even half worn. Great tread, great durability. Will buy E3 over stock every time!!
Review 14 for Rear Elite 3 MT90HB-16 Blackwall Tire - 407991
pkgmongo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mileage: 
low
High Mileage
high
High Mileage
from n.j.
Date:February 23, 2011
tire does everything dunlop claims/on my 2nd set and would buy them again/got 20k on the 1st set
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Rear Elite 3 MT90HB-16 Blackwall Tire - 407991
swampfrog85
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mileage: 
low
True to Specs
high
True to Specs
from Whiteman AFB Mo
Elite 3 is my choice
Date:October 14, 2010
I started with Elite GT, then Elite 2 and now the Elite 3. Over the last 23 yrs Dunlop has been my choice. I have tried other brands but really put my life with Dunlop. Great wet road grip and usually high milage(13k) on the rear, higher on the front. The last two rear tires have had cords at 10K, but did pull a trailer last year and rode a lot of two up this year on my 02 Electra Glide. cornering is good enough to scrape my floor boards. I would recommend this tire.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Rear Elite 3 MT90HB-16 Blackwall Tire - 407991
Louij
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mileage: 
low
Moderately Low Mileage
high
Moderately Low Mileage
from Edmonton, Alberta. Canada
ho hum
Date:September 27, 2010
Bought this tire because of the load rating and thought it would be great on my Road King, It breaks loose quickly and unexpectedly on wet surfaces. Dry handling wasn't bad but overall durability was less than expected. This rear will only last 6000 miles, and this seems a bit low.
Review 17 for Rear Elite 3 MT90HB-16 Blackwall Tire - 407991
Plug
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
from Northern Virginia and Metro DC
Impressed
Date:September 9, 2010
Looked for this tire in the local shops. They were asking for $165 and higher. Nobody had it in stock and said I would have to wait 3 days for shipping. On top of all of that, they all wanted to charge another $35 for mounting. Dennis Kirk shipped it to me in three days for $116 and I had it mounted for $35 the same day I recieved it. $49 savings!!! The savings might not always be this good, but I'll stick with Dennis Kirk and Dunlop. The tire is awsome. It's sticky, and it handles bridge grates, rumble strips, and construction gratings exactly the way they advertise it to.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Rear Elite 3 MT90HB-16 Blackwall Tire - 407991
roadking
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mileage: 
low
High Mileage
high
High Mileage
from Minn
Elite 3
Date:July 27, 2010
2nd tire purchased of this brand, far better than 402 for water and tar strips. Keep the air pressure at max to insure good wear.
Review 19 for Rear Elite 3 MT90HB-16 Blackwall Tire - 407991
CrowfromOhio
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dunlop e-3 rear
Date:July 20, 2010
This is my second set of E-3 tires. The ride is great, No tire noise to speak of. They do not track with normal tar snakes. How ever if the tar is new ans thich i do not beleive any tire would not be effected. Good in wet weather. Ovrall the best tire I have run on ant of my Harley's
Review 20 for Rear Elite 3 MT90HB-16 Blackwall Tire - 407991
Grizz1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mileage: 
low
True to Specs
high
True to Specs
from Colorado springs,CO
Great tire At the Best Price
Date:July 3, 2010
Nobody beats these tire prices... 10 dollars tire fee, free shipping, These tires look great mounted, the tire shop said these were real good tires, when I told them what I paid for them they were speachless. I really like these tires. Mounted on a 1998 cmc Road Warrior.
1 2 next>>